Canon CPI Fedrigoni UK Friedheim International IFS Kolbus Konica Minolta Pureprint Rhapsody Scodix

 ** View photos from this years awards evening ** 



Click the Play Button to view the highlights of the night

 Book of the Year


Winner - The Sick Rose

Thames & Hudson 


The Sick Rose Blossoms at the British Book Design and Production Awards

The British Book Design and Production Awards were held on 20 November 2014 at a glittering event in central London at The Grange St Paul's Hotel. The guest speaker for the evening was John Lloyd, the man behind some of the most successful and well-loved TV and radio shows of the last three decades.

Lloyd is the television producer responsible for, among other shows, To the Manor Born, The News Quiz, Not the Nine O'Clock News, Spitting Image, Blackadder and QI. He has also written or co-authored over 30 books, and is the driving force behind developing a new concept of education based on QI.

The evening celebrated everything that is great in British book design and with a record number of books entered, the judging process was harder than ever.

The overall winners of the night were publishers, Thames & Hudson, who took home 3 awards including Book of the Year for The Sick Rose. Judges commended the entry saying, "this beautifully crafted book held the judges attention and provoked our imagination like no other this year".

Once again, Best Jacket/Cover Design proved our most popular category with Children's Trade not far behind.

The Best British Book went to Sensuous Lines entered by The Fleece Press. The judges said, "the striking choice of red cloth and quarter bound hand marbled Suminagashi style cover paper incorporating a red heart provides a considered link between the contents of the book and the cover".

Congratulations to all winners and finalists.


View the full list of winners & shortlisted entries    


For more information contact Heena Bulsara at the BPIF on 020 7915 8338 or email


British Printing Industries AssociationOxford Brookes UniversityThe Publishers Association